Bear Den #4
Den Leader: Mark Wood
Assistant Den Leader:
Den Meetings: TBD
Location: Wood Residence

Den 7 Calendar

Cub Scout Bear Rank

The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade or are 9 years old. There are 24 Bear achievements in four different categories: God, Country, Family and Self. The Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf. When he has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives in the Big Bear Cub Scout Book for credit toward Bear arrow points. He may also complete additional elective credit requirements from the 12 achievements he did not use in earning his Bear rank. His parent approves his work and signs his book. The book is then shown to the Den Leader who records the progress and signs the boy's book.

Bobcat Badge

Regardless of a boy's Cub Scout rank, he must complete the Bobcat Trail as the first step in his Cub Scouting adventure.

In Rudyard Kipling's story, The Jungle Book, the black panther Bagheera is the mighty hunter that teaches the cubs the skills of the jungle. In Cub Scouting we use the symbol of the Bobcat.

Along this trail the Cub Scout learns the Cub Scout Promise, the Law of the Pack, and the Cub Scout Motto. These are the three most important things a boy must learn because they will help him through all of the trails of Scouting. Visit the Virtual Handbook for the complete list of Bobcat requirements.


Progress Towards Rank

Boys need frequent recognition soon after an accomplishment. The Cub Scout Immediate Recognition Kit provides recognition during the path to earn the Wolf and Bear rank badges.

As a Wolf or Bear, when he completes his first three achievements, his den leader presents the Progress Toward Ranks totem to him. It's a diamond with a thong attached and a bead slipped on the thong. It is worn on the button of the right shirt pocket as a temporary badge. For every three achievements completed by the scout as a Wolf, he will receive a gold bead. For every 3 achievements earned as a Bear, he will receive a red bead. These beads should be presented at den meetings.

After he gets his fourth bead, he has completed the requirements for his rank badge (either Wolf or Bear) which will be awarded at a pack meeting. Cub Scouts may continue to wear this emblem after ranks are earned until they become Webelos Scouts

Bear Rank Requirements

Visit the Virtual Handbook for the complete list of Bear Rank requirements.

Bear Electives

After earning the Bear Badge, boys can earn Gold and Silver Arrow points for completing electives. View the requirements for Bear electives in the virtual handbook.

Academics and Sports Program

Throughout Cub Scouts, boys may earn belt loops and pins for the academic and sporting activities that they do with their den, in school, or at home with their parents. The best online listing of the requirements for these awards can be found here: