Wolf Den #5
Den Leader: Mike Lehr
Assistant Den Leader: TBD
Den Meetings: TBD
Location: TBD

Den 4 Calendar

**Parents: Remember to review and add the Google calendar for the Pack to get a complete picture of all your Scout activities.** 

Cub Scout Wolf Rank

The Wolf rank is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 8). To become a Wolf Cub Scout, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills. His parent must approve each achievement by signing his book. The den leader keeps a record of his progress in the Wolf-Trax spreadsheet, and gives him recognition at a den meeting for passing each milestone.

Bobcat Badge

Regardless of a boy's Cub Scout rank, he must complete the Bobcat Trail as the first step in his Cub Scouting adventure.

In Rudyard Kipling's story, The Jungle Book, the black panther Bagheera is the mighty hunter that teaches the cubs the skills of the jungle. In Cub Scouting we use the symbol of the Bobcat.

Along this trail the Cub Scout learns the Cub Scout Promise, the Law of the Pack, and the Cub Scout Motto. These are the three most important things a boy must learn because they will help him through all of the trails of Scouting. Visit the Virtual Handbook for the complete list of Bobcat requirements.


Progress Towards Rank

Boys need frequent recognition soon after an accomplishment. The Cub Scout Immediate Recognition Kit provides recognition during the path to earn the Wolf and Bear rank badges.

As a Wolf or Bear, when he completes his first three achievements, his den leader presents the Progress Toward Ranks totem to him. It's a diamond with a thong attached and a bead slipped on the thong. It is worn on the button of the right shirt pocket as a temporary badge. For every three achievements completed by the scout as a Wolf, he will receive a gold bead. For every 3 achievements earned as a Bear, he will receive a red bead. These beads should be presented at den meetings.

After he gets his fourth bead, he has completed the requirements for his rank badge (either Wolf or Bear) which will be awarded at a pack meeting. Cub Scouts may continue to wear this emblem after ranks are earned until they become Webelos Scouts.

Wolf Rank Requirements

Visit the Virtual Handbook for the complete list of Wolf Rank requirements.

Wolf Electives

After earning the Wolf Badge, boys can earn Gold and Silver Arrow points for completing electives. View the requirements for Wolf electives in the virtual handbook.

Academics and Sports Program

Throughout Cub Scouts, boys may earn belt loops and pins for the academic and sporting activities that they do with their den, in school, or at home with their parents. The best online listing of the requirements for these awards can be found here:
Subpages (1): Den 4 File Cabinet