Webelos I Den #7
Den Leader: Mike Earley
Assistant Den Leader: Chris Reeve
Den Meetings: TBD
Location: TBD

Den 2 Calendar

**Parents: Remember to review and add the Google calendar for the Pack to get a complete picture of all your Scout activities.**

What are Webelos?

Webelos stands for "WE'll BE LOyal Scouts."

The Webelos rank is for boys who have completed third grade (or are 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from Webelos den to Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Scout Book, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements -- all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.

He passes most Webelos badge requirements to his Webelos den leader and activity badge counselors. When all requirements are completed, the Webelos den leader submits the request to the Advancement Chair. The Webelos badge is obtained and presented to his parent or guardian at the next pack meeting in an advancement ceremony. The parent, in turn, presents the badge to the boy.

Bobcat Badge

Regardless of a boy's Cub Scout rank, he must complete the Bobcat Trail as the first step in his Cub Scouting adventure.

In Rudyard Kipling's story, The Jungle Book, the black panther Bagheera is the mighty hunter that teaches the cubs the skills of the jungle. In Cub Scouting we use the symbol of the Bobcat.

Along this trail the Cub Scout learns the Cub Scout Promise, the Law of the Pack, and the Cub Scout Motto. These are the three most important things a boy must learn because they will help him through all of the trails of Scouting. Visit the Virtual Handbook for the complete list of Bobcat requirements.



Activity Badges

Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys in the pack do. Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their weekly den meetings. Once a boy learns a skill, he practices it at den meetings and at home on his own. His family helps him at home. Webelos Scouts bring the projects they do at home to the den meetings to show others, and to have the Webelos den leader approve their projects.

Webelos Scouts get to work on the following 20 Webelos activity badges:

Physical Skills

  • Aquanaut
  • Athlete
  • Fitness
  • Sportsman

Mental Skills

  • Artist
  • Scholar
  • Showman
  • Traveler


  • Citizen
  • Communicator
  • Family Member
  • Readyman


  • Craftsman
  • Engineer
  • Handyman
  • Scientist

Outdoor Activity

  • Forester
  • Geologist
  • Naturalist
  • Outdoorsman

The Virtual Handbook has a good online listing of the Webelos Activity badge requirements.

Webelos Rank Requirements

Visit the Virtual Handbook for the complete list of Webelos Rank requirements.

Webelos Electives

After earning the Webelos Badge, boys can earn the compass points emblem. It is awarded after earning seven activity badges: four more in addition to the three earned for the Webelos badge. After earning the compass points emblem, boys receive a metal compass point for each four additional activity badges earned.

Academics and Sports Program

Throughout Cub Scouts, boys may earn belt loops and pins for the academic and sporting activities that they do with their den, in school, or at home with their parents. The best online listing of the requirements for these awards can be found here:
Subpages (1): Den 2 File Cabinet